Notice

I read the “Missed Connections” section of the local weekly. That’s where hipsters express their undying lust through cryptic messages featuring bar names, band names and clothing labels. Often I imagine one of the less detailed and more passionate entries is about me. “Beautiful Girl Downtown: I see you every day and hope that someday you will see me.” It’s a lovely notice and it makes me want to thank whoever wrote it. Even though it’s not for me, I can imagine it is. For a moment I can feel that adrenaline rush of being wanted. I’m not that desperate. Really.

Leave a Reply

