The Kosher Guide to Imaginary Animals

Title: The Kosher Guide to Imaginary Animals: The Evil Monkey Dialogues
Author: Ann VanderMeer and Jeff VanderMeer
ISBN: 9781892391926

The Kosher Guide to Imaginary Animals is a charmingly illustrated, pocket-sized bestiary. The selection of animals presented is eclectic and includes everything from the Mongolian Death Worm to E.T. Each animal is first described, then discussed by Ann VanderMeer and “The Evil Monkey” (her husband Jeff’s blogging alter-ego). The discussions are mostly humorous, but also quite informative. I was surprised to find that by the end of the book I was getting good at figuring out which animals were Kosher and which were not. Should I ever find myself throwing a dinner party in Narnia, I now feel confident that I could plan a menu to accommodate all my guests!

2 thoughts on “The Kosher Guide to Imaginary Animals

  1. Melissa this is great. I had never heard of this book before, but working at a Jewish Community Center I’ve actually had this type of conversation with people. I’m going to have to pick up this book for our collection!

Leave a Reply

